Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

©ilona mccarty-gods pocket

Coeur d’ Alene is a jewel in this beautiful state of Idaho. Sea Kayak Adventures is based out of Coeur d’ Alene and they are your ticket to 6 days of kayaking God’s Pocket. God’s Pocket Provinicial Park in Queen Charlotte Strait is located off the northern tip of Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada.

Our Guides were Serina Bain and Lexie Owen. They had navigated these waters many times and gave us all a wonderful knowledgeable tour of the native culture and the eco system. We saw whales, eagles, sea stars and a watery dance of bioluminescence. Kermit the frog green cedar forests, thick and mossy, with a clean scent your memory will want to hold on to.

I am a wanna be diver. This is the word on the water that I hear. Jacques Cousteau rated God’s Pocket Provincial Park with its spectacular Browning Wall the best cold water SCUBA dive spot in the world, due to this great marine diversity.

I hired a float plane to get a view for my camera. Ok, ok, mostly for me. We flew over our group of kayakers, Scarlet Point lighthouse and soared along the various islands like a bird. It was spectacular. I am sure some of the kayakers thought we were crazy. Especially me since I requested shot gun with the door off, yes, off. After all, I was strapped in. For me it was nirvana. I am sure some thought I was missing out on a beautiful kayak excursion in a pristine area for a noisy plane? To be two places at once, always a dilemma…

©OVP-Ilona McCarty3297

God’s Pocket Resort has homemade goodness served family style. The cook Shona knows her way in the kitchen. Her faithful little dog follows her around the resort. I have eaten a lot of granola in my days and this is by far the best. She shared the recipe with me and I am passing it on to you. Enjoy!

Gods Pocket Granola
3/4 cup honey
1/4 cup canola
1/4 cup butter
1 Tbsp vanilla
Heat gently to combine, then pour into large bowl and add :
4 cups large flake rolled oats ( not quick oats )
1 cup bran
1/2 cup flax seeds
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup whole almonds or pecans
3/4 cup coconut
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger

Stir all together then bake on cookie sheets (2) at 275 deg F, for about  40 minutes, till golden color and grains look toasted. Stir a couple of  times during cooking to make sure it is evenly baked.
Cool completely on pans.
Toss granola with 2 cups of dried fruit you like, such as dried cranberries and raisins.
Store in airtight container. Makes about 2 lbs of granola.

