Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

©ilona-mccarty

The dome of the Frauenkirche is the back drop at the Dresden Christmas market. This market dates back to 1434.

©ilona-mccarty3

©ilona-mccarty2

Along the banks of the Elbe River.

It does my heart good to see Dresden, Germany at Christmas. The first time I was here was in the 1980’s, when it was still under the East Germany flag. Each trip back I could feel it wanting to be back to the former glory it once was. Dresden before WWII was know as the Jewel Box or Florence on the Elbe.

I am here with my cousin Iris and her husband Josep. We were pen pals as children. Iris has always lived in what was East Germany and though I was born in Germany, I have lived most of my life in America. We have a great bonding here, our roots are from Dresden, her Father and my Mother.

Josep buys a round of Gluwien, a hot spiced wine from one of the many vendors. The wine is served in a nice pottery mug which has a festive design of the Dresden Christmas Market. You can purchase the mug or bring it back to be washed for the next sip of warmth. It is nice to see people drinking out of these for esthetics and the enviroment.

We wander past stalls of the famous Dresden Stollen, clothing, toys and everything Christmas. The wide-eyed children and the corner music entertainment are some of my favorites.

We take a stroll through the Lutheran Frauenkirche, Church of our Lady. We have a musical bonus of the choir practicing. This amazing piece of baroque architecture was designed by Dresden architect George Bahr. She was leveled in the bombing of Dresden in the winter of 1945. The rubble of the Frauenkirche stayed in a pile for 40 years as a war memorial. Using the original stone and new pieces, it is once again a beautiful Lady which opened in 2005. It now also serves as a symbol of reconciliation between former warring enemies. Links worth reading Frauenkirche Dresden.

Dresden is known for many things, Dresden Porcelian, the Semperoper, and the Zwinger Museum to name a few. The city is worth a visit, National Geographic named Dresden one of the best trips in 2012.

Dresden, Germany is one of my favorite places to visit.  My Mother was born there and survived the Dresden Bombing of WWII as a small child. In the 1950’s they then moved to Frieburg im Breisgau, Germany in route through Berlin. Survival was the name of the game. My Mother and Grandmother told me after the war and the camps were some of their worst memories. These women are tiny but they are outstanding lovely humans with great strength to survive such political leadership madness.  Many years later my Mother married my Father, an American in the Air Force. Love, intelligent leadership and education is so very important to this universe we call home.

