Tags

, , ,

snow williams creek

Winter brought thick deep fluffy snow. A few weeks ago Kristin, Gina and Hope drug me from work to go play. I had my grumpy pants on but they were insistent. Kristin is a petite little spot of sweetness, the snow was so deep in places I thought we could lose her. Laughter was front and center, especially when Gina took a header…good thing the snow was soft. The forest of pine scented air was something a paper tree hanging in your car could never even come close to.

This week I lost a friend in a plane crash near Lake Tahoe. We have been friends a long time. Darla was a lovely woman, an amazing designer and Mother to Colin and Erin. Our drink was dirty martinis with Sapphire gin. We laughed a lot, shared our dreams, our mistakes and how much we loved our children.

Due to my wanderlust we lost track for a few years. I had been thinking about her a lot through those years but life sometimes confuses what is important. Last fall I was in her neck of the woods and left a message hoping to once again drink a martini with her. She called me back a few weeks later, she had been in Europe with her husband when I left the message. We talked for over an hour that day, it was as if time had not passed. She was so happy and life was good for her. We shared emails, photos of our life in between, texts and phone calls. We were planning a meeting in 2014.

Dont let life confuse what is important, go play in the snow.

xoi

